Personal Statement – Sample

Understanding human and non-human resources around us always remained my topic of Interest. To learn how to better leverage these and how they behave in certain circumstances, I want to pursue my doctorate in Management Sciences to that I can get Pakistan benefited from the rising event management industry and to make my own event technology company, world’s best Event management and technology company.

Specifically I would like to work with the challenges that Pakistan’s Event Industry has declined in past 10-15 years because of the situation of law and order in country and the gaps found in Public policy to address them. In order to achieve my aim of leading Event Technology Company in Pakistan, I had to be well equipped with Technology, public policy in Pakistan and in general and management. I completed my graduation in Information Technology from one of finest IT institutes in country, PUCIT. The bachelor’s degree in IT helped me get command over technology.

I then worked for 3 years with top technology brands to further polish my technology side and worked on managerial positions that created an aspiration to further study and management and policy aspects. I started my company and hired resources on managerial position and tried to form my company policies.

At that point of time, I realized that to scale the event technology company, we need to collaborate with international event and technology companies and there are so many gaps in public policy of Pakistan for international collaborations, hosting international delegations, hiring foreign employees, providing services to international clients and others. To understand and address all this, I started my masters in Development studies, technology and policy. The master’s program helped me a lot as an executive of my company. I closely worked with UNDP and Punjab youth policy forum and developed an understanding of public policy of Pakistan. We also worked on improvement of youth policy and formation of new policies for event management and technology businesses in Pakistan.

Now, as I have achieved the required knowledge and expertise in technology, policies are being formed and I’ve a running business where I have so many human and non-human resources to manage, I want to learn best management practices and want to learn from case studies and research of historical data and patterns to accomplish my aim to form world’s best event technology company. I feel that the focus on interdisciplinary education at the Information Technology University (ITU) School of Economics places me in an excellent position to undertake courses and research work with the policy makers, tech managers, and other departments at my host university. I feel studying at Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS) will allow me to gain both the breadth and the depth in this field that is required to tackle the toughest management and policy problems in Pakistan.

Note: This statement is added to guide students. One should tailor his/her own personal statement as everyone has a different background and story. Author of this statement is an entrepreneur, he is CEO Shahruh Technologies PVT LTD.

Leave a comment